Steven Universe Star Sweater

20170913_144459

Today’s post is going to be pretty quick. I have been crazy swamped, but am crazy excited to share ANOTHER new sweater.

This one is not part of the Shakespeare series, because it’s a sweater based on a sweater from Steven Universe.

Steven Star Sweater 14PNG.PNG

There’s a whole conversation to be had about how to adapt a garment/accessory you see on tv, or elsewhere, but again we’re a bit strapped for time, so I’ll briefly explain how I came up with this.

I started with a bulky yarn. Steven’s sweater looks like it has that cozy enveloping quality that you get from a bulky yarn, but also it’s a quick knit. I made it a raglan sweater knit in the round, because that was the easiest and surest way to get that really nice alignment of the starts which cut across Steven’s bust (had it been higher a classic yoked sweater would have done the trick). The rest is just figuring out colors, and a star pattern.

So yeah, not much else to say this week, but I hope you like the sweater. I wear it and I feel like a crystal gem.

20170913_144441

You can download the pattern here:Steven Universe Star Sweater!

Leave a comment